Home > Fitness and Weight Loss > What Powers You?

What Powers You?

Presque Isle Power Plant, Marquette Michigan, photo copyright Kim Nixon
It’s true I am fascinated by the two power plants that are part of the Marquette landscape. I think of what they bring us everyday. This is the plant out at Presque Isle. As Mike and I headed down to the shoreline for ice shots, I turned to take a quick shot of the plant.

What powers you? Fuels you?

As I diet and try to think of food not as comfort but simply as energy-in and energy-out. I think often on the concept of what powers me, concentrating on quality fuel.

…from the fridge or pantry

  • apples
  • salads
  • pumpkin seeds
  • carrots
  • black beans
  • stir-fry veggies
  • hormone free chicken
  • low-fat cheese
  • 1% milk
  • honey
  • nut butter
  • broccoli
  • cauliflower
  • sweet potatoes
  • garnet yams
  • kale
  • cukes
  • celery
  • yogurt
  • rice
  • cereal

In Marquette, Michigan our power comes from hyrdo-electric, and coal.  We have been killing the power on as many household items we can on departing the house. A new roof and door help keep us warm and efficient. Compact fluorescent bulbs light up our nights. I drive a car in the winter and with my new job. I used to ride my bike in good weather. Perhaps I will ge to do this again someday. Until then my car takes gasoline.

  1. February 19, 2009 at 1:51 am

    I’ve been a lurker here for a bit and just had to come out to comment on this entry… While driving east near Lowe’s one day this winter my 7 yr. old daughter spied the stacks from the upper harbor power plant on the horizon and proclaimed “that is where they make clouds!”

    Being a Marquette resident, I enjoy reading your views and seeing the photos … thanks for sharing !!!

  2. February 19, 2009 at 9:31 pm

    Lana! Thanks for delurking and sharing your daughter’s comment. As I drove home from work in Negaunee I smiled as I saw the smoke stacks today. I was also smiling as the sun was making everything all golden at 5:30 in the evening. The sun was STILL OUT! The stacks were still making clouds, though (smile).

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

