Home > Injury & Recovery, Trail Runs > Saturday on the Noque

Saturday on the Noque

noque_backsideofdino_2aUp-2

Saturday dawned and I stayed in bed and slept. I had been coping with neck strain, misalignment and muscle spasms for the past week. This led me to believe I could not or should not work out this weekend. But before noon on Saturday I went for a camera hike on the Noque with Mike. I needed movement. Mike wanted to be supportive, so I showed him my “Rave Run.”

Earlier this fall I was trying to get Mike out on the trail in the early morning to shoot pics as I ran past the backside of what I call the dino, or steggie. The leaves were golden and the rock is sheer face on the back side.

noque_MikeAndBeast-2315

Mike, adventurous, climbed up thru the rocks to the topside where I took the above photo. I was pleased to have my Magic Man along. I would push harder and not be so cautious with him at my side. Mike and I made it all the way to the ponds.

noque_ice_allice-2209VP

The ice is just starting to glaze over the smaller side of the pond (train tracks cut thru the center of the pond. We spent a lot of time taking digital captures of the area and headed back. By this time I had tested out my body by jogging and even sprinting a bit. If you have ever dealt with a chronic injury that flares up you will understand this “testing.” I prayed that I did not set myself back.

noque_MikeandCaution-2292

And I cannot say I always proceeded with caution. But I was sure to rest after my 10k hike.

For more photos of my Noque Runs read this post: http://runningmarquette.com/2009/10/24/the-noque-and-my-first-10k-run/

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

