Home > A Runner's World, Cross Training, Injury & Recovery > Split Shift & Cross Train

Split Shift & Cross Train

Today I worked a split shift 9-1 and then 4:30-8:30. With the travel time between different locations, that left me with just enough time for a good work-out, dinner, and to check the mail. I was awaiting books from Amazon that were coming UPS. I now have reading to help me on bitter cold days. I ordered “The Runner’s Guide to the Meaning of Life” by Amby Burfoot, and “What I Talk About When I Talk About Running” a memoir by Haruki Murakami.

I headed to the YMCA for cross training in the pool. I did 15 or so laps and added several jog and cross-country ski type walking laps in the pool. The hot tub was perfect after yesterday’s 10k. I put the soles of my feet up against the jets and worked all around my ankles, calves and knees. I miss the pool. I used to swim quite a bit but then I injured my neck and shoulder. Now I am starting to see the successes of my physical therapy. I can do some free-style again. However, most of my laps are breast-stroke and side-stroke.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

