Home > Injury & Recovery, Nutrition > Gluten Free Morning

Gluten Free Morning

Rang in the New Year with Intention–
Melissa Middleton of Awakenings, and Lisa Mckenzie of Mukta Yoga offered an opportunity to bring mindful awareness to your current place in the flow of your life and your spiritual journey on January 2, 2010.

Bakery on Main, Gluten Free Apple Raisin Walnut with added currants and 1/2 cup of chopped pink lady apple and served with 3/4 cup of Rice Dream Original.Now off to Mukta Yoga to ring in the new year with asana and pranayama.

Just a quick note on eating gluten free this morning. I had been having some digestive distress on and off since this summer. At first this happened after runs on Saturday morning where I would drop by the farmer’s market grab a cookie and come home to scrambled eggs and stir-fry veggies. I would spend hours on the couch, curled in a ball, forcing a fist into my gut to help the pain pass. This has progressed and December has been an awful month and my training almost halted. So, suspecting my gall bladder and possible inflammatory responses causing my body to rebel I radically altered my diet. I have not been tested for food sensitivities.

I had an ultrasound on my abdomen which included m gallbladder and other organs on December 31st and I will know the results soon enough. But in the mean time I am taking a combination of Beano and Enzymedica’s Digest for enzyme support and I am for the most part eating, wheat free, gluten free, and almost dairy free. I cannot tolerate much meat, either.

Sonja Wieck just put up a great post at her blog entitled, What the heck is up with all this Gluten Free Stuff? I think you’ll like the read.

  1. January 2, 2010 at 5:22 pm

    Thanks for the linky love Kim! I am really starting to understand the severity of issues that people have with their GI tract. i feel very thankful that mine is quite hearty and happy. The breakfast sounded delightful, please keep us posted on the results of your ultrasound. i hope all your organs are all happy and healthy.

  2. megankillian
    January 3, 2010 at 2:29 pm

    Trying gluten free can’t hurt, right? I hope it brings you some freedom from your pains. Hopefully the gall bladder results don’t show anything. Having answers are nice, but avoiding surgery is even better… right?

  3. January 3, 2010 at 9:10 pm

    I am hoping that I can heal simply with food choices and some enzyme support. But I want to train hard and cannot right now. This will pass and things will get better.

  4. January 7, 2010 at 10:27 pm

    My doctor drew a blood panel for celiac testing. It will be a few days. My PT found that my psoas muscle is acting up and that I have weakness on the right side. I can XC-ski but no hills for now. It was suggested I snowshoe run the Noque this year. The good news so far is gall bladder ultrasound was negative and normal. Oh and that I can still work-out just carefully. Kinda makes me nervous to run on ice with a psoas strain.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

