Home > A First Year Runner, Injury & Recovery, Weather or Not > Sunday Run in StabilICERS

Sunday Run in StabilICERS

My run was a walk/jog with some faster legs I might begin to call running. I wore my StabilICERS and ran the bike path for a round trip home and back of 5 miles. I came in the door dancing to ColdPlay. I had a head-wind for some distance and the snow pelted me in the face. But I liked the taste of snow today it made me feel young. I feel my time and distance sucked, but I sweated darn good.

Reading on Facebook and on other’s websites of friends who had longer runs than my own had me a bit saddened. I want to be running longer miles and feeling strong both before, during and after the run. But I have to keep focus here. I am healing. Pushing too hard will only mean more set-backs.

This tiny stretch of woods is just before the Picnic Rock’s parking lot. The snow was drifted in odd little swaths further up the path. At times, I had snow pack, ice, clear wet pavement, or drifts. Part of my “slowness” was being  cautious and taking it to a walk to judge where my body was. A perfect opportunity to take photos. This is my first outdoors run since early December (I think, picture me scratching head).

The day was not without challenges. I came home to hear the router had died. My gastrointestinal track started to spaz–enough to worry me–but it was not one of those 8-hour long events that make you think of the emergency room.

Tonight, I have a spaz-ing psoas muscle again. I felt it at first after grocery shopping. I sat on the couch and felt it trembling on my attachment at the lesser trocanter on the right thigh. I can also feel it now in a couple other places.

Good news is the low back is holding well. I can touch my toes and my range of motion seems unaffected. I ate good foods including much spinach and pineapple.

Ummm…but I am still searching for the positive. Dang psoas muscle! Time for me to stretch ice and try to let go of high expectations and work with my body. I mean I did run into that headwind. I was outside. And at the grocery store I bought my first ever box of EnviroKidz Peanut Butter Panda Puffs! And you know what they almost taste like Captain Crunch’s Peanut Butter Crunch. A little more mellow, less sugar, but plenty of crunch. So I have that to look forward to tomorrow.

Tell me about your runs! Tell me about your weekend! Tell me what nourishes you!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

