Home > A First Year Runner, celiac disease, gluten intolerance, Injury & Recovery, Nutrition > Celiac Disease, receiving my diagnosis

Celiac Disease, receiving my diagnosis

My genetic tests came back positive; there is lots of globbly-guck that explains which blood serum tests were run and the results. Lot’s of chatter on endoscopy and colonoscopy. But it comes down to, Yes. Kim has Celiac Disease.

What is Celiac Disease?

Celiac disease (CD) is a genetically linked disease with an enviornmental trigger. In people with CD, eating certain types of protein fractions, commonly called gluten, set off an autoimmune response that causes damage to the small intestine. This, in turn, causes the small intestine to lose the ability to absorb the nutrients found in food, leading to malnutrition and a variety of other complications.

Source: Celiac Sprue Association

So, now I am a runner with Celiac Disease and that explains a lot of what has been going on. My fatigue. My spasms, anemia, slow healing injuries, and the list continues.

But this is a diagnosis that I can cope with as healing will occur with adherence to a gluten-free diet. However, Celiac disease is life-long and currently incurable.

The questions for me continue:

  • Do I annouce my medical label to the world?

Guess I did that already.

  • Do I change the tagline of this blog?

Running Marquette…Running with Celiac Disease in the Upper Peninsula.

  • Do I choose to pursue testing for nutritional deficiencies even when my Gastro Doc says not necessary?

Seems important to me, considering my bruising, fatigue and tingly hands and feet.

Each case of Celiac presents differently and my symptoms might not be someone else’s experience. I had what one would consider, Slient Celiac. My symptoms did not become gastric until December of 2009. But I have been chronically anemic for over a decade. I suffered from migraines, muscles spasms and fatigue. This diagnosis is one answer, only.

The doc says I ought not be reacting to the “air” in bakeries. That I must have gluten in the intestinal tract to react.

  • Twice I have been in or near bakeries and reacted, why?

So, you see I am a walking question mark.

  • Or, is that a running question mark???

Round 2, March 2010--Lower Gliadin levels. Positive TTG igA and Endomysial.

Round 1--January 2010

  1. March 23, 2010 at 2:33 pm

    I was diagnosed with Crohn’s Disease three years ago, and I, too, avoid gluten. I am on the Specific Carbohydrate Diet, which has worked wonders for me and a few of my friends who have Celiac Disease.

  2. March 28, 2010 at 9:11 pm

    Denise, Thanks for your comment I will check out the Specific Carbohydrate Diet!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

