Blueberry Trails Forever

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It is kinda like Strawberry Fields Forever, but its Blueberries Baby! And they are everywhere, plump and plentiful due to all the rains we have had this summer. I have never seen the jackpine forest this green. Normally, I would not even think of running the Blueberry Ridge Pathways just off 553 in Marquette County because, in summer, I think of them as hot and dusty. This year they are lush and dotted with mushrooms and blueberries.

I’ve been running the lighted-loop at Blueberry which is 1.7 miles. Two times around is a little over 5k. I’m hoping to up my mileage starting this week by doing one lighted-loop and the Wolverine-loop for a total of 4.4 miles.

My time per mile is still higher than last year when I ran 10 minute miles and on a good day 9:50. As I heal from injury and from Celiac Disease related complications, I’m running slower in the 12 minute range. Hey 🙂 I’m still on my feet and feeling blessed.

I have 5-weeks until my next race a 10K which is all uphill at Tahquamenon Falls, Paradise Michigan. The race is part of the Great Lakes Endurance series.

The joy is my after-run fuel is blueberries, picked fresh. I have tucked a small bowl in the car. I finish my run and towel off, grab the bowl and do stretches and gobble some blueberries. Life is good!

  1. Cindi
    July 12, 2010 at 9:31 am

    Seems like they are early this year! I hope there are still some around when I come!! They look great.

  1. July 13, 2010 at 11:33 am

Leave a Reply

