Home > celiac disease, Injury & Recovery > Meteorological Spring!

Meteorological Spring!

The months of spring are upon us in the Northern Hemisphere, March, April and May. Today, in the Upper Peninsula we were blessed with sun, wind and 45-degree temperatures. I was so enticed by the promise of Spring (to come, this is the U.P. after all), that after working 8 hours on 4.5 hours of sleep I changed into running clothes and headed directly out to the bike path for a 3.7 mi. run from my home in South Marquette to McCarty’s Cove and back home.

I was met by strong winds and the most gorgeous blues. The sky was blue. The dreamy clouds were multiple shades of blue and white. Lake Superior was a myriad of different blues. Ice melting and cracking into sheets on the Big water. I had dry asphalt bike path, sidewalk, some slush and little patches of melting ice.

I realized, it is time for new shoes. My feet ached and sloshed around in shoes that have become too loose. I noticed that being off my nasal cortisone has brought back a little exercise induced asthma. But one of those miles was 11 minutes. That had me smiling. My body is healing and I’m getting stronger. Whatever triggered the Celiac Disease in 2009 and caused so many sensitivities and allergies was the strangest thing that has ever happened to me. But, I am gaining back my immune system, my strength, my life.

I am setting a goal, April 23rd I am running the YMCA race here in Marquette, Michigan. Distance to be determined by my training over the next few weeks. Choices include 5k, 10k or 10 mile.

For more information about the YMCA run/walk, click here.

For more information on Meterorological Spring, click here.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

