Home > celiac disease, Personal Best, Races > 5K for Eosinophillic Disorders

5K for Eosinophillic Disorders

Today, I ran a local 5K race to help raise money and awareness of a little known disorder. The American Partnership for Eosinophilic Disorders (APFED) is a non-profit advocacy organization for those living with eosinophilic esophagitis, eosinophilic gastroenteritis, eosinophilic colitis, hypereosinophilic syndrome, and other eosinophilic disorders. The Cincinnati Center for Eosinophilic Disorders has wonderful explanations of this group of disorders.

For a video on what life is like without food listen to what these kids have to share in the following video.

I felt compelled to run this race! As visitors to my blog know, I was diagnosed with an immune disorder, Celiac. My diagnosis was a good thing. I am healing. I changed my diet and gave my body time. Running again is so joyous to me. I’m still here, crossing starting lines and finish lines. Gone are the post race experiences of collapsing in pain for hours on end. I am blessed.

Now, I feel it is my responsibility to raise awareness for Celiac Disease and other auto-immune disorders and allergies. I can use my health and healing to help others.

My knee has been tight. I took myself off a medicine I could not afford. But I am racing and improving. My last 5K race I ran in April with a finish time of 33:30.6. Today’s race I was timed by stopwatch at 31:50. It was a humid warm day and the run was on black-top. I prefer trails and hard courses always seem so hard. But I did good! Happy 🙂 to be racing. Happy to have run another Personal Best!

Special thanks goes out to a Clawson High School classmate (’82) who sponsored my run!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

