Home > Races, Trail Runs > Photos from Tahqua Trail Run

Photos from Tahqua Trail Run

I was the first runner to arrive. There were no signs as we enter the Lower Falls area at Tahquamenon. Strange. We drove around parking lots. Finally, we saw a couple walking their dog and asked if they had seen anything. “Over there.” They replied. We parked and I jogged, “Over there.” Beyond the gift shop in a rainy field I was greeted by Starting Gates. No people.

It was going to be a wet start to the race. The bathrooms were locked. People were starting to gather. Superior Timing started handing out timing chips. Runners Tahquamenonbegan to gather under thick trees and the overhang of the gift shop.

I had already made up my mind that I would not take photos during this race. Running with an injury on a challenging trail run, that was also wet, full of inclines and declines, rocks and roots, the camera was a distraction I could not afford. Plus, I was feeling good. I was feeling like I could really RUN! So this photo was the last I took. Afterall, I had a crew of one and he had a great camera.

During the pre-race rundown the race organizer stated there were roots as tall as our knees and we would walk that section of the trail. I thought, overdramatic! I learned later that there certainly were roots as tall as my knees, downed trees, boardwalks tipping precariously toward the river and more.

The run was exhilarating. The tape on my knee held up through 1/2 the race then the wet brush started loosening it up. I had to get my steps in check at that point. But I was able to run. So free. And I was able to pass people in front of me. I ran a smart race. It has been my tendency to go out too fast and fade off. This race I was passing people and I finished strong.

Fifth in my age group! High fives to the kids gathered to greet runner entering the parking lot and headed to the finish line! I had enough energy to say let’s do it again! Fun, fun, fun trail.

The Tahqua 10k is part of the Great Lakes Endurance Series and there was also 25K finishers that crossed the same finish line.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

